Siblings show talents on hard wood, gridiron

Proud of each other’s accomplishments, competitive siblings, redshirt freshman All-PSAC West kicker for IUP’s football team Brett Ullman, and women’s basketball  senior guard Arika Ullman, have played significant roles in IUP athletics.

In his first season, Brett was second in the PSAC, connecting on 90 percent of his attempted field goals. Last season, Arika led the team in three-point field goal shooting, a blistering 45 percent.

Although the younger sibling, Brett takes credit for teaching Arika everything she knows about basketball and athletics. 

“People come up to me all the time and say my brother is the best kicker ever,” Arika said. “It’s pretty cool to have a younger brother that is so successful.”

While the odds were stacked against the Hawks to be successful this season due to the many new faces, Arika has helped lead IUP to 18 victories thus far. “I think we are a lot better from my previous years,” she said.

Not wanting to attend a  college where he could potentially be just another student, Brett chose IUP for several reasons.  “I wanted to go to a school that I could be comfortable at, that wasn’t too big, and it didn’t hurt that my older sister was here,” he said. “Arika showed me the way around campus and I really liked it here. I knew I wanted to be a Crimson Hawk.”

After having missed two seasons of football, Brett was confident that his hard work would immediately pay off. He was correct. Connecting on 10-11 field goals, he was a perfect 8-8 from beyond 40 yards, and was selected to the Don Hansen All-Star Region One Squad with third team honors.

“Caring,” “competitive,” “fun-loving,” “happy” and “thoughtful” “best friends,” were some words the talented duo used to describe their relationship.

“I couldn’t have asked for a better more supportive brother” Arika said.

Leave a Reply

